State MPRE Requirements

For attorneys, the MPRE is the defining ethics exam, traditionally taken after completion of a legal and professional ethics course and required before admission to the state bar. It tests potential attorneys on their knowledge and mastery of the rules and regulations governing the legal profession, what is and is not permitted behavior in practice. Everything from restrictions on fee schedules to addressing conflicts of interest are addressed, guiding new lawyers through the difficult waters that are legal ethics.

The MPRE is offered three (3) times during the year across each state. It consists of 60 multiple-choice questions covered over two (2) hours.

Presently, the only areas NOT requiring the MPRE are Wisconsin and Puerto Rico. They may implement alternative state-specific requirements as well, so check with their offices for more information. The other US territories (Guam, Virgin Islands, Palau, Northern Mariana Islands) implement the MPRE alongside the other mainland states. New Jersey and Connecticut may accept completion of a law school ethics course as an alternative to taking the exam but check with them before making any assumptions.

The MPRE is monitored and controlled by the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE); contact them or your state bar association’s office if you have questions about the exam.


Upcoming MPRE Dates/Deadlines for 2022

Registration deadlineFirst OptionSecond Option
January 21, 2022 ($150)March 23 (Wednesday)March 24 (Thursday)
June 9, 2022 ($150)August 10 (Wednesday)August 11 (Thursday)
September 14, 2022 ($150)November 14 (Monday)November 15 (Tuesday)

Reminder: Numbers and information often change. Please check your state website for the official MPRE information!  Do not rely on this page alone!

Disclaimer: The information does not count as professional or legal advice, nor is it guaranteed to be up-to-date. You are personally responsible for knowing the timing and scores of your state requirements. This list is updated only periodically and is not to be relied upon as the sole or primary source of information. Verify!

Generally, the darker states have a less stringent requirement (75) while the lighter states have higher requirements in the 80s. California and Utah both expect the most with minimum passing scores of 86.

Alabama

Passing Score
75

Alaska

Passing Score
80

Arizona

Passing Score
85

Arkansas

Passing Score
85

California

Passing Score
86

Colorado

Passing Score
85

Connecticut

Passing Score
80

Delaware

Passing Score
85

Florida

Passing Score
80

Georgia

Passing Score
75

Hawai’i

Passing Score
85

Idaho

Passing Score
85

Illinois

Passing Score
80

Indiana

Passing Score
80

Iowa

Passing Score
80

Kansas

Passing Score
80

Kentucky

Passing Score
80

Louisiana

Passing Score
80

Maine

Passing Score
80

Maryland

Passing Score
85

Massachusetts

Passing Score
85

Michigan

Passing Score
85

Minnesota

Passing Score
85

Mississippi

Passing Score
75

Missouri

Passing Score
80

Montana

Passing Score
80

Nebraska

Passing Score
85

Nevada

Passing Score
85

New Hampshire

Passing Score
79

New Jersey

Passing Score
75

New Mexico

Passing Score
80

New York

Passing Score
85

North Carolina

Passing Score
80

North Dakota

Passing Score
85

Ohio

Passing Score
85

Oklahoma

Passing Score
75

Oregon

Passing Score
85

Pennsylvania

Passing Score
75

Rhode Island

Passing Score
80

South Carolina

Passing Score
77

South Dakota

Passing Score
85

Tennessee

Passing Score
82

Texas

Passing Score
85

Utah

Passing Score
86

Vermont

Passing Score
80

Virginia

Passing Score
85

Washington

Passing Score
85

West Virginia

Passing Score
80

Wisconsin

Passing Score
N/A

Wyoming

Passing Score
85

District of Columbia

Passing Score
75

Guam

Passing Score
80

Northern Mariana Islands

Passing Score
80

Palau, American Samoa

Passing Score
75

Puerto Rico

Passing Score
N/A

Virgin Islands

Passing Score
75